Broadheath Primary Win Altrincham League Championship

Broadheath Primary Football
Broadheath Primary Winners!

Double Football Whammy for Broadheath Primary

The boys football team have won the Altrincham League Championship after a very long 16 year dry spell without a cup! After an incredible effort throughout the season by all players, they were absolutely delighted to finally win the league, which was won after a tense top of the league clash with Bollin Primary. The boys were excellent ambassadors for Broadheath primary school and demonstrated a mixture of hard work, team cohesion and a wonderful attitude to overcome some tricky games.

To add to the celebrations, the girls football team have won the Altrincham Indoor Championship which they attended at Altrincham Leisure Centre on the 31st March 2016. After a dramatic final against Navigation Primary, the girls came out 4-2 winners, doubling the schools trophies for the season!

Due to the long absence without a trophy, Jack Bird (Teacher) and Nick Liddell (School football league organiser) got together and arranged to do something special for both teams. Broadheath Primary had the absolute pleasure of being joined by Mr Emile Heskey for the presentation ceremony at school on the 20th April. Mr Heskey presented each player with a personally signed medal and individual trophy and then presented each team with the championship trophies which will now go on display in school.

The pupils from Key Stage 2 also had the opportunity to take part in a question and answer session with Mr Heskey which was enjoyed by all and has inspired the children to really challenge themselves to work hard and believe in themselves to achieve their dreams, whether that be in sport or another interest.

Headteacher, Mrs Lyde said ‘It has been a magical season and we are all incredibly proud of our teams. It just shows what self-belief and hard work can achieve!’

Top Photo: Broadheath Primary Winners receiving their medals and trophies from Mr Heskey

Back row
Sam Sheridan, Mr Bird, Emile Heskey, Miss Johnston and Mrs Lyde.
Middle row
Rosie Crossthwaite, Mason Lawley, Katie Beech, Jade Buckley-Ratcliffe, Chloe Houghton, Ella Brownhill, Summer Cunliffe, Lucy Seddon, Caide Atherton and Connor Wright.
Front Row
Taylor Thomas, Louis Ray, Joshua Reeves-Dempster, Adam Heap, Emilia Crosby Sanne, Finley Hulse, Joel Page and Mohammed Elhassan.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.